Older Entries

I let Chester go. He's free now. I took him outside this morning and he ran around our porch for a while, then went outside and climbed up the orange tree. After about 15 minutes, I went out to see him and he climbed onto my shoulder. I guess that was his saying good-bye. We just looked at each other for a few minutes, then he made a few noises and he climbed down my leg. After a few seconds of looking around, he ran to the fence, went under it, and climbed up my neighbors' tree. I watched him as he climbed up and down and up and down. He'd come real close to me, then run back up and make noises. I honestly hoped he'd come back down to me and jump on my shoulder, but he didn't. I sat on the wall behind our house and watched him from there, and as I did, an older (and fatter) squirrel approached me and the tree. I got off the wall and let the squirrel pass. He/she went up the tree and joined Chester. It was incredible. Mom says she thinks that it was Chester's mom, but I don't know if they remember their kin like people do. That would be amazing if it was her. So I laid out back to catch some sun and watch to see if he'd come down. Well, he didn't and as upset as I am right now, I know that's a great thing because it means that he's happy and comfortable. God damn this is a sucky feeling. You probably don't understand and are thinking, "it's a squirrel-it isn't meant to be a pet," yeah, well I know that, but its the same feeling. Do you not cry when a pet dies? That's what I thought. That was my baby for God's sake! I FED that thing with an eye dropper- I TOOK HIM TO SCHOOL WITH ME BECAUSE I WAS TOO SCARED TO LEAVE HIM AT HOME! Holy shit I loved that rodent.

At least Milo, Mizzy, and Roxie will be happy now. Milo (my fat ass cat) has been so jealous the past few weeks; it's been ridiculous. As for Roxie... Man, I think she just wanted to play with it or eat it. And poor Mizzy. She doesn't get attention from anyone but my mom, dad, and I anyway, so when everyone makes over the squirrel, she just looked morbidly depressed. At least my permanent babies get their way of life back, and Chester gets to find his REAL way of life again.

Good luck Chester, I love you kiddo.



�Glinda|| � || Elphie�